

OREGON

COUNTIES

Oregon has 36 counties. There are 3071 counties in the United States. Counties are the primary legal divisions of most states and generally are functioning governmental units. They are known as "parishes" in Louisiana. In Alaska, Census Areas are used for statistical purposes, while the principal governmental units are boroughs. Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Virginia also have independent cities, government units outside the jurisdiction of any county.

MILES

20

U.S. Geological Survey

40

60



pagecnty_or2.pdf INTERIOR-GEOLOGICAL SURVEY, RESTON, VIRGINIA-2004