SOUTH DAKOTA

COUNTIES

nationalatlas.gov

South Dakota has 66 counties. There are 3071 counties in the United States. Counties are the primary legal divisions of most states and generally are functioning governmental units. They are known as "parishes" in Louisiana. In Alaska, Census Areas are used for statistical purposes, while the principal governmental units are boroughs. Maryland, Missouri, Nevada, and Virginia also have independent cities, government units outside the jurisdiction of any county.



U.S. Department of the Interior U.S. Geological Survey

MILES

20

The National Atlas of the United States of America®